

English

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards College of Liberal Arts - Instructor of the Year

The award was created in 2011. They are recognized during the commencement ceremony, have their names added to a plaque, and receive \$1,000. Eligibility is limited to instructors, lecturers, senior lecturers, and instructional assistant professors.

- Karen Fatula Forgette Senior Lecturer in Composition and Rhetoric & Assistant Chair (2015)
- Joan Wylie Hall Senior Lecturer Emeritus in English (2014)

Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

 Derrick Avin Harriell - Director of African American Studies, Otillie Schillig Associate Professor of English, African American Studies, and Creative Writing (2017)

Howell Family Outstanding Teacher of the Year

Renamed in 2017, this yearly award recognizes excellence in instruction, care and inspiration of students. CLA faculty members of professorial rank (assistant to full professor) are eligible. Past recipients, temporary and visiting faculty are ineligible.

• Jason David Solinger - Associate Professor of English (2021)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- Kathryn B McKee Director of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture, McMullan Professor of Southern Studies, and Professor of English (2015)
- Judson D Watson Howry Chair in Faulkner Studies and Professor of English (2014)
- Beth Ann Fennelly Distinguished Professor of English (2011)
- Ann Fisher-Wirth Professor Emerita of English (2006)
- BENJAMIN F FISHER Professor Emeritus of English (2004)
- Ethel Young Scurlock Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2003)
- COLBY H KULLMAN Professor Emeritus of English (1995)

Liberal Arts-RSRCH, Scholarship, & Creative Achievement Award in the Humanities

This award will be presented annually to tenured faculty members in the College in recognition of sustained exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement at the national/international level.

- Aimee C Nezhukumatathil Professor of English and Creative Writing (2021)
- Jaime Lynn Harker Director of the Isom Center and Professor of English (2017)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

• Patrick E Alexander - Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2023)

The Distinguished Professor Award

The Award acknowledges outstanding faculty by conferring the honorific title of Distinguished Professor. Appointment as a Distinguished Professor is reserved for only the very best faculty members in recognition of sustained excellence.

- Judson D Watson Howry Chair in Faulkner Studies and Professor of English (2021)
- Karen L Raber Distinguished Professor of English (2019)

Staff Council Award - Overall

• JOSHUA L DAVIS - ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN CENTER FOR WRITING AND RHETORIC (2010)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

- Beth Ann Fennelly Distinguished Professor of English (2018)
- Karen L Raber Distinguished Professor of English (2014)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.





- Judson D Watson Howry Chair in Faulkner Studies and Professor of English (2012)
- DOUGLAS ROBINSON PROFESSOR OF ENGLISH AND DIRECTOR OF FIRST YEAR WRITING (2008)
- Ivo Kamps Professor Emeritus of English (2003)

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

Criteria: impact on graduate students, excellence in supervision of student research or professional practice, excellence in graduate classroom instruction, and other contributions to improved instruction, including influence on the graduate curriculum.

• Jaime Lynn Harker - Director of the Isom Center and Professor of English (2023)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

• Kathryn B McKee - Director of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture, McMullan Professor of Southern Studies, and Professor of English (2004)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- Patrick E Alexander Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2021)
- Ann Fisher-Wirth Professor Emerita of English (2014)
- Ethel Young Scurlock Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2011)
- Gregory Alan Schirmer Professor Emeritus of English (2008)
- Ronald A Schroeder Professor Emeritus of English (2001)
- COLBY H KULLMAN Professor Emeritus of English (1997)
- Natalie Schroeder Professor Emeritus of English (1987)

Distinguished Faculty Fellows (Liberal Arts)

In 2002, the College of Liberal Arts began the Distinguished Faculty Fellowship Program to reward and support senior faculty members who have distinguished records of research, teaching, and service.

• H BARRY HANNAH - WRITER IN RESIDENCE (2003)

SEC Faculty Achievement Awards Program UM Nominee

The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards program recognizes extraordinary faculty accomplishments at SEC universities. This award honors those with outstanding records in both teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for junior faculty and students.

- Karen L Raber Distinguished Professor of English (2019)
- Judson D Watson Howry Chair in Faulkner Studies and Professor of English (2013)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

- Patrick E Alexander Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2020)
- Judson D Watson Howry Chair in Faulkner Studies and Professor of English (2014)
- Beth Ann Fennelly Distinguished Professor of English (2011)
- Ann Fisher-Wirth Professor Emerita of English (2006)
- Ethel Young Scurlock Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2003)
- BENJAMIN F FISHER Professor Emeritus of English (2001)
- Kathryn B McKee Director of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture, McMullan Professor of Southern Studies, and Professor of English (2001)
- COLBY H KULLMAN Professor Emeritus of English (1995)

