

Modern Languages

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards College of Liberal Arts - Instructor of the Year

The award was created in 2011. They are recognized during the commencement ceremony, have their names added to a plaque, and receive \$1,000. Eligibility is limited to instructors, lecturers, senior lecturers, and instructional assistant professors.

- Irene K Cotelo Senior Lecturer in Spanish (2018)
- Michael Carl Raines Instructional Associate Professor of TESL (2013)
- Ivonne Jeannette Whitehead Senior Lecturer in Spanish (2012)

Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

• Veronica Estela Menaldi - Assistant Professor of Spanish in Modern Languages (2022)

Howell Family Outstanding Teacher of the Year

Renamed in 2017, this yearly award recognizes excellence in instruction, care and inspiration of students. CLA faculty members of professorial rank (assistant to full professor) are eligible. Past recipients, temporary and visiting faculty are ineligible.

• Heather J Allen - Associate Professor of Spanish (2019)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- Felice A Coles Professor of Modern Languages (2013)
- Jason E Klodt Associate Professor of Modern Languages (2010)
- Daniel Edmund O'Sullivan Chair and Professor of Modern Languages (2008)
- Donald L Dyer Associate Dean for Faculty & Academic Affairs and Distinguished Professor of Modern Languages (1992)

The Distinguished Professor Award

The Award acknowledges outstanding faculty by conferring the honorific title of Distinguished Professor. Appointment as a Distinguished Professor is reserved for only the very best faculty members in recognition of sustained excellence.

• Donald L Dyer - Associate Dean for Faculty & Academic Affairs and Distinguished Professor of Modern Languages (2018)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

• Daniel Edmund O'Sullivan - Chair and Professor of Modern Languages (2017)

Frist Service Award

• <u>Donald L Dyer</u> - Associate Dean for Faculty & Academic Affairs and Distinguished Professor of Modern Languages (2017)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- MELVIN S ARRINGTON Professor Emeritus of Modern Languages (2014)
- HANS-JURGEN GAYCKEN PROFESSOR OF MODERN LANGUAGES (1996)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.





MISSISSIPPI

C-115 Bondurant Hall, University, MS 38677 http://modernlanguages.olemiss.edu

- Felice A Coles Professor of Modern Languages (2013)
- Jason E Klodt Associate Professor of Modern Languages (2010)
- Daniel Edmund O'Sullivan Chair and Professor of Modern Languages (2008)
- Donald L Dyer Associate Dean for Faculty & Academic Affairs and Distinguished Professor of Modern Languages (2004)