

# About the University of Mississippi

Overview Mission

**Administration** 

**Board** 

**Accreditation** 

**EEO** 

<u>History</u>

**Buildings** 

## Accreditation

The university has occupied a position of educational leadership not only in the state but also in the South and the nation. It was a charter member of what is now the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, a regional accrediting agency; helped found the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges; and pioneered the accreditation of high schools in Mississippi.



The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, master's, specialist, first professional, graduate certificates, and doctoral degrees. Questions about the accreditation of the University of Mississippi may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC's website.

The institution as a whole and, where appropriate, its subdivisions are recognized by regional and national organizations and accrediting agencies. The following is a list of academic programs that are accredited by professional accrediting agencies.

# College of Liberal Arts

Degree programs in the Department of Art are accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design. The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry is accredited by the American Chemical Society and the B.S. in forensic chemistry is accredited by Forensics Science Education Programs Accreditation Commission. The Department of Music is an accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Music. The doctoral program in clinical psychology is accredited by the American Psychological Association. The Department of Theatre Arts is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre.

#### **Patterson School of Accountancy**

The Patterson School of Accountancy's undergraduate program has been accredited since 1944 by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). The school's master's program has received separate accounting accreditation since May 1983 by the AACSB. The Mississippi School of Accountancy was one of the first schools in the country to receive separate accounting accreditation at both the bachelor's and master's degree levels. The school is also a full member of the Federation of Schools of Accountancy.

# **School of Applied Sciences**

The Master of Science program in Communication Sciences and Disorders at the University of Mississippi is accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, 2200 Research Boulevard, #310, Rockville, MD 20850, 800-498-2071 or 301-296-5700. The dietetics program in the Department of Nutrition and Hospitality Management is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics. The hospitality management program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration. The recreation administration program is accredited by the National Recreation and Park Association. The program in social work is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education.

#### **School of Business Administration**

The undergraduate and graduate programs of the School of Business Administration are accredited through AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.





## **School of Education**

The university's teacher education program is accredited by the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) for the preparation of elementary, secondary content area teachers and school service personnel, with the doctoral degree as the highest degree approved. The School of Education also holds membership in the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE).

# **School of Engineering**

The Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, 111 Market Place, Suite 1050, Baltimore, MD 21202-4012, telephone: (410) 347-7700, has accredited these programs: Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering; Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering; Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering; Bachelor of Science in Geological Engineering; and Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering. The Bachelor of Science in Computer Science degree is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET, 111 Market Place, Suite 1050, Baltimore, MD 21202-4012, telephone: (410) 347-7700. The school and its component departments are members of the Engineering College Administrative Council and the Engineering College Research Council. The Bachelor of Engineering program is not accredited by a Commission of ABET and is designed to provide students with maximum flexibility in selection of a curriculum to suit individual interests.

# Meek School of Journalism and New Media

The school is accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

# **School of Pharmacy**

The Doctor of Pharmacy program is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council on Pharmacy Education.

## School of Law

The School of Law is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools.

# **School of Nursing**

The baccalaureate and master's programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).

# School of Dentistry

The program is accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) of the American Dental Association.

#### **School of Medicine**

The four-year program leading to the degree of Doctor of Medicine is accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education.

## **School of Health Related Professions**

The programs within the school are accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (cytotechnology), Commission on Dental Accreditation (dental hygiene), Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (health informatics and information management), National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (medical laboratory science), Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (occupational therapy), Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (physical therapy), and Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Therapy (radiologic sciences).

