

# School of Law

Overview

**Academics & Admissions** 

**Programs** 

Courses

Faculty

**Awards** 

# Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards School of Applied Sciences - Thomas A. Crowe Award

• William J Derrick - LEGAL WRITING INSTRUCTOR AND ACTING ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF LAW (2006)

#### Staff Council Award - EEO5

• POINDEXTER E BARNES - NETWORK ADMINISTRATOR (1996)

### **Frist Service Award**

• THOMAS RAY MASON - DIRECTOR OF TRIAL ADVOCACY AND INTERN PROGRAM AND PROFESSOR OF LAW (2004)

## **Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award**

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- John M Czarnetzky PROFESSOR OF LAW AND MITCHELL, MCNUTT AND SAMS DISTINGUISHED LECTURER (2016)
- William W Berry ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR AND FRANK MONTAGUE JR PROFESSORSHIP OF LEGAL STUDIES AND PROFESSIONALISM (2013)
- ROBERT A WEEMS PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1994)
- GUTHRIE T ABBOTT PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1986)

### School of Law Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- Larry J Pittman PROFESSOR OF LAW AND RAY & LOUISE STEWART LECTURER (2017)
- John M Czarnetzky PROFESSOR OF LAW AND MITCHELL, MCNUTT AND SAMS DISTINGUISHED LECTURER (2016)
- Samuel M Davis DEAN EMERITUS AND JAMIE L WHITTEN CHAIR EMERITUS LAW AND GOVERNMENT (2015)
- Mercer E Bullard PROFESSOR OF LAW AND BUTLER, SNOW, OMARA DISTINGUISHED LECTURER (2014)
- RICHARD L BARNES PROFESSOR OF LAW (2013)
- JOHN R BRADLEY PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (2013)
- JACK W NOWLIN SENIOR ASSOCIATE DEAN, PROFESSOR OF LAW AND JESSIE D. PUCKETT JR. LECTURER (2012)
- William J Derrick LEGAL WRITING INSTRUCTOR AND ACTING ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF LAW (2011)
- Deborah H Bell INTERIM DEAN, PROFESSOR OF LAW AND MISSISSIPPI DEFENSE LAWYERS PROFESSORSHIP (2010)
- JACK W NOWLIN SENIOR ASSOCIATE DEAN, PROFESSOR OF LAW AND JESSIE D. PUCKETT JR. LECTURER (2006)
- John M Czarnetzky PROFESSOR OF LAW AND MITCHELL, MCNUTT AND SAMS DISTINGUISHED LECTURER (2005)
- ROBERT A WEEMS PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (2003)
- ROBERT A WEEMS PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (2002)
- GUTHRIE T ABBOTT PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (2001)
- GEORGE C COCHRAN PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (2000)
- John M Czarnetzky PROFESSOR OF LAW AND MITCHELL, MCNUTT AND SAMS DISTINGUISHED LECTURER (1999)
- ROBERT A WEEMS PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1999)
- ROBERT A WEEMS PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1998)
- John M Czarnetzky PROFESSOR OF LAW AND MITCHELL, MCNUTT AND SAMS DISTINGUISHED LECTURER (1997)
- **GUTHRIE T ABBOTT** PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1992)
- ROBERT A WEEMS PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1989)
- GEORGE C COCHRAN PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1985)
- **GUTHRIE T ABBOTT** PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1984)
- Deborah H Bell INTERIM DEAN, PROFESSOR OF LAW AND MISSISSIPPI DEFENSE LAWYERS PROFESSORSHIP (1983)
- Karen O Green PROFESSOR OF LAW (1982)
- ROBERT A WEEMS PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1980)
- **GUTHRIE T ABBOTT** PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1976)
- GUTHRIE T ABBOTT PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1974)

#### School of Law Ben Hardy Faculty Service Award

The Ben A. Hardy Faculty Excellence Award recognizes outstanding teaching, scholarship and service by a faculty member of the School of Law. The recipient is selected annually by the Dean and the President of the Law School Student Body.

• Ronald J Rychlak - PROFESSOR OF LAW AND JAMIE L. WHITTEN CHAIR OF LAW AND GOVERNMENT (2017)







- Michele Alexandre PROFESSOR OF LAW AND LEONARD B MELVIN LECTURER IN LAW (2016)
- Donna Raye Davis ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF LAW (2015)
- Karen O Green PROFESSOR OF LAW (2014)
- E Farish Percy PROFESSOR OF LAW AND MISSISSIPPI DEFENSE LAWYERS ASSOCIATION DISTINGUISHED LECTURER (2013)

