

## Teacher Education

Overview

**Academics & Admissions** 

**Programs** 

Courses

Faculty

**Awards** 

# Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

• Crystal Armstrong Dunn - Coordinator of Advising, Recruitment and Retention (2014)

### Staff Council Award - EEO1

• Mary Ann Connell - Adjunct Professor of Law (1995)

#### **Outstanding Staff Award**

A staff member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership, and commitment.

• Bethany Ferguson LaValley - Coordinator of Professional Development-CMSE (2010)

#### Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• Ann Elizabeth Monroe - ASSISTANT DEAN, DIRECTOR OF ASSESSMENT, AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION (2018)

#### School of Education Outstanding Service Award

The Exemplary Service Award is presented to a faculty or staff member for exceptional service to the profession, the local or University community, region, state, or national and international scholarly communities during the academic year.

- Sara Ann Grimes Platt CLINICAL ASSISTANT PROFESSOR IN SPECIAL EDUCATION (2020)
- Nichelle Catrice Robinson ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION AND SCHOOL OF EDUCATION DIVERSITY OFFICER (2019)
- Denise A Soares ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SPECIAL EDUCATION AND ASSISTANT CHAIR OF TEACHER EDUCATION (2018)
- Matthew Blake Adams PROGRAM COORDINATOR (2017)
- <u>Stacy Ryan Niemeyer</u> CHAIR OF LEADERSHIP AND COUNSELOR EDUCATION AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF LEADERSHIP AND COUNSELOR EDUCATION (2016)
- Virginia J Moore ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELEMENTARY EDUCATION (2015)
- Ann Elizabeth Monroe ASSISTANT DEAN, DIRECTOR OF ASSESSMENT, AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION (2012)

#### School of Education Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- Diane Lawrence Lowry CLINICAL ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF SPECIAL EDUCATION (2020)
- Alicia Cooper Stapp ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF HEALTH & PHYSICAL EDUCATION (2018)
- Joel C Amidon ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SECONDARY EDUCATION (2017)
- Jerilou J Moore PROFESSOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION (2016)
- Allan Edward Bellman PROFESSOR OF MATHEMATICS EDUCATION (2014)
- OTIS WESTBROOK PICKETT ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (2013)
- Joel C Amidon ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SECONDARY EDUCATION (2012)
- Ann Elizabeth Monroe ASSISTANT DEAN, DIRECTOR OF ASSESSMENT, AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION (2010)
- Nichelle Catrice Robinson ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION AND SCHOOL OF EDUCATION DIVERSITY OFFICER (2009)
- Jerilou J Moore PROFESSOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION (2007)
- Angela Sykes Rutherford Professor of Teacher Education Director of the Center for Excellence in Literacy Instruction (2006)
- LUCINDA M LEIGH ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELEMENTARY EDUCATION (2005)
- SARAH E BLACKWELL ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN TEACHER EDUCATION (2003)
- Sidney T Rowland ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR EMERITA OF TEACHER EDUCATION (2001)
- BOBBIE SMOTHERS JONES ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2000)
- MARTHA S CHAMBLESS Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (1999)
- PEGGY EMERSON Chair Emerita and Professor Emerita of Curriculum (1998)

#### School of Education Researcher of the Year

- Joel C Amidon ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SECONDARY EDUCATION (2020)
- Burhanettin Keskin ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION (2018)
- Kerry P Holmes Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (2017)











- Denise A Soares ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SPECIAL EDUCATION AND ASSISTANT CHAIR OF TEACHER EDUCATION (2016)
- Joel C Amidon ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SECONDARY EDUCATION (2015)
- Allan Edward Bellman PROFESSOR OF MATHEMATICS EDUCATION (2014)
- ANGELA TILL BARLOW ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2011)
- BARBARA J DOUGHERTY PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2009)
- **DEBORAH A CHESSIN** Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction (2005)
- Kerry P Holmes Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (2004)
- William Joseph Sumrall PROFESSOR OF ELEMENTARY EDUCATION (2002)
- David Rock DEAN OF THE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION AND PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM & INSTRUCTION (2001)
- JEAN M SHAW Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction (2000)

