

# **Political Science**

<u>Overview</u>

Academics & Admissions

**Programs** 

**Minors** 

**Courses** 

Faculty

Awards

#### Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards School of Applied Sciences - Thomas A. Crowe Award

CHESTER L QUARLES - PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE (2004)

## **Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost**

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

• CYRIL HART ROSENBLATT - ACADEMIC COUNSELOR (2010)

## **Faculty Achievement Award**

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

- Robert D Brown Professor of Political Science (2006)
- John W Winkle Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (1992)

## **Frist Service Award**

- Robert D Brown Professor of Political Science (2017)
- John W Winkle Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (2006)

#### College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Timothy W Nordstrom Professor of Political Science (2001)
- Holly T Reynolds Associate Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Assistant Professor (2000)

## Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- Robert D Brown Professor of Political Science (2015)
- John W Winkle Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (1980)

## Sanford and Susan Thomas Senior Professor Research Award in Social Sciences

Sanford & Susan Thomas Award in the Social Sciences is given annually to outstanding tenured UM faculty members in recognition of sustained exemplary work in research at the national/international level.

• Conor M Dowling - Professor of Political Science (2019)

## University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

• MARY E STUCKEY - PROFESSOR OF POLITICAL SCIENCE (1999)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.

