



ARCH DALRYMPLE III DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professorships

Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professors are recognized for their excellence and innovation in teaching and research.

• WINTHROP D JORDAN - WILLIAM F WINTER PROFESSOR OF HISTORY AND PROFESSOR OF AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES (1998)

Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

- Jessica C Wilkerson Assistant Process of History and Southern Studies (2020)
- Darren E Grem Associate Professor of United States South History (2018)

Howell Family Outstanding Teacher of the Year

Renamed in 2017, this yearly award recognizes excellence in instruction, care and inspiration of students. CLA faculty members of professorial rank (assistant to full professor) are eligible. Past recipients, temporary and visiting faculty are ineligible.

· Vivian Ibrahim-Dinius - Associate Professor of History and Director of the Office of National Scholarship Advisement (2020)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- John R Neff Associate Professor of History and Director of Civil War Research Center (2005)
- Douglass Sullivan-Gonzalez Professor of History (2001)
- SHEILA SKEMP Professor Emeritus of History (1985)

Liberal Arts-RSRCH, Scholarship, & Creative Achievement Award in the Humanities

This award will be presented annually to tenured faculty members in the College in recognition of sustained exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement at the national/international level.

- Ted M Ownby William F Winter Professor Emeritus of History (2022)
- Jeffrey R Watt Cook Chair and Distinguished Professor of History (2019)
- Robbie Ethridge Professor Emeritia of Anthropology (2017)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

• Joseph P Ward - Adjunct Instructor in Arch Dalrymple III Department of History (2006)

Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award

• CHARLES R WILSON - Professor Emeritus of History and Southern Studies (2010)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

• SHEILA SKEMP - Professor Emeritus of History (2009)

Frist Service Award

about the accreditation.

• Charles W Eagles - Professor Emeritus of History (2010)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Cornelis Gispen Visiting Professor Emeritus of International Studies (1994)
- Jeffrey R Watt Cook Chair and Distinguished Professor of History (1991)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist,

and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions



ARCH DALRYMPLE III DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY | Fall 2016-17

310 Bishop Hall, University, MS 38677

http://history.olemiss.edu



• John R Neff - Associate Professor of History and Director of Civil War Research Center (2009)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

- John R Neff Associate Professor of History and Director of Civil War Research Center (2009)
- Jeffrey R Watt Cook Chair and Distinguished Professor of History (2007)
- WINTHROP D JORDAN WILLIAM F WINTER PROFESSOR OF HISTORY AND PROFESSOR OF AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES (1998)
- CHARLES R WILSON Professor Emeritus of History and Southern Studies (1997)

