



Overview Academics & Admissions

Programs **Minors** Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards College of Liberal Arts - Instructor of the Year

The award was created in 2011. They are recognized during the commencement ceremony, have their names added to a plaque, and receive \$1,000. Eligibility is limited to instructors, lecturers, senior lecturers, and instructional assistant professors.

• Carey Bernini Dowling - INSTRUCTIONAL ASST PROF PSY DIR OF UNDERGRAD STUDIES (2017)

Liberal Arts-RSRCH, Scholarship, & Creative Achievement Award in the Humanities

This award will be presented annually to tenured faculty members in the College in recognition of sustained exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement at the national/international level.

Todd A Smitherman - ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY AND DIRECTOR OF CLINICAL TRAINING (2018)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

Alan M Gross - PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY (2007)

Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

John N Young - ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY (2015)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

 Kenneth J Sufka - PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY AND PHARMACOLOGY; AND RESEARCH PROFESSOR IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (2005)

Frist Service Award

- BILLY A BARRIOS Staff Psychologist and Associate Professor of Psychology (2007)
- Kenneth J Sufka PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY AND PHARMACOLOGY; AND RESEARCH PROFESSOR IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (2006)

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

Criteria: impact on graduate students, excellence in supervision of student research or professional practice, excellence in graduate classroom instruction, and other contributions to improved instruction, including influence on the graduate curriculum.

Alan M Gross - PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY (2013)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- Kelly Gene Wilson PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY (2010)
- Kenneth J Sufka PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY AND PHARMACOLOGY; AND RESEARCH PROFESSOR IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (1996)
- BILLY A BARRIOS Staff Psychologist and Associate Professor of Psychology (1995)

Distinguished Faculty Fellows (Liberal Arts)

In 2002, the College of Liberal Arts began the Distinguished Faculty Fellowship Program to reward and support senior faculty members who have distinguished records of research, teaching, and service.

Alan M Gross - PROFESSOR OF PSYCHOLOGY (2003)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.

